Committee members: David Kaplan, Chair; Richard G. Cohen, Nancy Niles, John Padden, Chris Spitz, David Card (*ex officio/non-voting*), Heather Cohen (*Technical Advisor/non-voting*)

## Report of PPCC Election Committee – September 2020

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following are the newly elected Area and At-large Representatives to the PPCC Board, beginning October 1, 2020:

Area 1: Joanna Spak	Area 6: Matthew Quiat
Area 2: Steve Cron	Area 7: Jennifer Li
Area 3: Haldis Toppel	Area 8: Vacant
Area 4: Karen Ridgley	At-large: Alan Goldsmith

Area 5: Sue Kohl

We had a large voter turnout of 1085 valid votes, particularly in light of the pandemic and considering there were only three contested races. We commend all the candidates for their efforts in this difficult time. We also thank the Palisades community for participating in this election.

With this report we are also distributing a Results Data Sheet, which includes the vote counts. A few words about the Committee's vote counting process are in order. All of the five voting Committee members (listed above) were present at our virtual meeting. PPCC Chair David Card (ex officio/nonvoting) was also present, as was the Committee's Technical Advisor Heather Cohen (nonvoting). Each questionable ballot was inspected by every member of the Committee individually and collectively. Every decision concerning each ballot was unanimous and decisions were based strictly on the bylaws. After initial ballot qualification determinations were made, the entire group reviewed all decisions at least once (or more) again. The bylaws were scrupulously followed and all decisions were entirely impartial and unanimous.

It is important to recognize that the disqualification of votes due to duplication narrowed the margin of victory in all races but **did not change the outcome**. This result was fortuitous, but the Committee was fully prepared to follow the Bylaws to whatever outcome the rules dictate. In fact, almost all of the disqualifications were based on the elimination of duplicate ballots.

## Congratulations to the newly elected candidates!