Introduction:  PPCC has one standing committee (the Executive Committee), three committees required under the PPCC Bylaws for specific purposes, and several ad hoc committees.  Current committee names and membership are listed below.  All ad hoc committees dissolve as of June 30th of each year; on July 1st each year, the Executive Committee’s officer membership is automatically reconstituted and other committees are formed or reconstituted at the Chair’s/President’s discretion and/or as directed by the Bylaws. For further information about committee formation please see PPCC Bylaws & Procedures, or contact

PPCC’s liaisons to regional coalitions, committees and/or government, appointed by the Chair/President under his/her general administrative authority, are also listed below (following the PPCC committee listings).

Standing Committee

Executive Committee (2022-2023):
Function:  to act on behalf of the PPCC Board only when immediate action is required and the Board is unable to act, and to give advice and counsel from time to time as requested by the PPCC Chair/President; the officers and Chair Emeritus (automatic committee members) by majority vote appoint the two remaining members (one Organizational and one Area/At-large representative).
PPCC Bylaws (Art. V, Sec. 3)
Maryam Zar, PPCC President (Committee Chair)
Jenny Li, PPCC Vice-President
Randy Young, PPCC Treasurer
Beth Holden-Garland, PPCC Secretary
David Card, PPCC Chair Emeritus
Joanna Spak, elected Area Representative (Area 1)
John Padden, Organizational Representative (Palisades PRIDE)

Required “Specific Purpose” Committees

Nominating Committee (Officers Election, 2023):
Function:  to nominate officers who may be elected by the PPCC Board for each new term.
PPCC Bylaws (Art. VII, Sec. 1)
Membership pending (April 2023)

Election Committee (Elected Representatives Election, 2022):
Function:  to implement and supervise the public election of Area and At-large representatives.
PPCC Bylaws (Attachment A, Sec. 1)
Jenny Li, PPCC Vice-President (Committee Chair)
David Card, PPCC Chair Emeritus
Ryan Craig, PPCC Resilient Palisades Representative
Michael Edlen, PPCC Area 3 2nd Alternate
Joanna Spak, PPCC Area 1 Representative
Maryam Zar, PPCC President (ex officio/non-voting)

Committee of the Three Chairs  (Alternates Nomination, 2022-23):
Function:  to nominate Alternate Area and At-large representatives who may be elected by the PPCC Board.
PPCC Bylaws (Art. VIII, Sec. 1.C & D)
Membership pending (Fall 2022)

Other Ad Hoc Committees (2022-23)

Awards Selection Committee (PPCC Citizen of the Year/Golden Sparkplug/discretionary Pride of the Palisades Awardees, 2022):
Function:  to review nominations and select the person(s) to receive the Citizen and Sparkplug Award(s) and under special circumstances to select a recipient of “Pride of the Palisades” recognition.
Awards Guidelines & Honoree Archive (Sec. 4.a)
Membership pending (Fall 2022)

Awards Event Committee (PPCC Awards Event, 2022)
Function:  to coordinate all details and produce the annual event honoring the PPCC Awardees.
Awards Guidelines & Honoree Archive (Sec. 4.d)
Membership pending (Fall 2022)

Note:  The following ad hoc committees and liaisons have been appointed for the 2022-2023 term by the President on July 1, 2022.

Bylaws Committee: (term beginning July 1, 2022)
Function:  to consider, draft and recommend proposed Bylaws amendments for adoption by the PPCC Board.
PPCC Bylaws & Procedures
David Card, PPCC Chair Emeritus (Committee Chair)
Haldis Toppel, Area 3 Primary Representative
Andy Frew, Theatre Palisades representative
Andrew Wolfberg, PPCC Area 8 1st Alternate
Randy Young, PPCC Treasurer
Maryam Zar, PPCC President (ex officio/non-voting)

Community Plan Update Committee (CPU): (appointments pending confirmation)
Function:  to begin reviewing the Brentwood-Palisades Community Plan, working with a companion committee in Brentwood and making recommendations to the PPCC Board regarding possible Plan revisions in advance of the City’s update process (not expected to begin until 2022-23 at the earliest).
Randy Young, PPCC Treasurer (committee co-Chair)
Barbara Kohn, Historical Society Rep, PPCC (committee co-Chair)
David Card, PPCC Chair Emeritus
Joanna Spak, Area 1 rep, PPCC Executive Committee member
Richard Blumenberg, PPCC Board member, Civic Association
Maryam Zar, PPCC President (ex officio/non-voting)

Land Use Committee (LUC):
See PPCC Land Use Committee (LUC) information here.  
Function:  to help standardize and professionalize the PPCC Board’s consideration of zoning and land use related issues by offering thorough, consistent and well-researched analysis and recommendations to the Board.
LUC Policy & Procedures 
Committee email/requests to review projects: or
Steve Cron, PPCC Area 2 Representative (Chair)
Howard Robinson, planning consultant, resident & past PPCC Area 3 2nd Alternate
Michael Edlen, PPCC Area 3 1st Alternate
Joanna Spak, PPCC Area 1 Representative
Ryan Craig, Resilient Palisades Organizational Representative
Danielle Samulon, community member
Dave Card, PPCC Chair Emeritus
Maryam Zar, PPCC President (ex officio/non-voting)

Palisades Forestry Committee (PFC):
Function:  to conduct research and make recommendations to the PPCC Board about developing an Urban Forestry Policy (including street tree selection) for the Palisades.
PFC 9/1/19 Report
Resolution re Street Tree Selection Policy
Dave Card, PPCC Chair Emeritus (Committee Chair)
Cindy Kirven, PPCC Area 6 2nd Alternate, Palisades urban forestry activist (Committee Chair)
Jo Ann Bright, resident, landscape designer
Bill Bruns, Friends of the Palisades Library, journalist
Nancy Niles, PPCC Area 3 1st Alternate
Mary Schulz, landscape consultant
Bruce Schwartz, PPCC Area 2 2nd Alternate
Lisa V., Palisades tree activist
Marilyn Wexler, PPCC At-large 2nd Alternate, SMCCA President
Maryam Zar, PPCC President (ex officio/nonvoting)

Advisors to the PFC (non-voting)
Kelly Comras, PPCC Area 1 2nd Alternate, landscape architect/FASLA
Isabella Dennis,  CD11 Palisades Field Deputy
Lisa Cahill, tree activist & former CD11 Palisades Field Deputy
Lisa Smith, registered Consulting Arborist
Nancy Freedman, Brentwood

Liaisons to the PFC (non-voting)
Stephen Du Prey, Urban Forestry DivisionCity of LA
Miguel Ornelas, Area Supervisor, Urban Forestry Division, City of LA

Liaisons to Regional Coalitions/Committees/Government (2021-22)

PCH Task Force
David Card, PPCC Chair

Westside Regional Alliance of Councils (WRAC)
Maryam Zar, PPCC President (Primary)
Jessica Rogers (Alternate)

WRAC Committees:
LUPC:  Joanna Spak, PPCC Area 1 Representative
Homelessness:  Barbara Kohn, PPCC Board member
Transportation:  Steve Lantz, resident, former PPCC Board member  & SBCCOG Transportation Director
Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness: Maryam Zar, Krishna Thangavelu

(PPCC President will step in to attend meetings when appointed representatives can not)

WLA Community-Police Advisory Board (C-PAB)
Maryam Zar, PPCC President